The first Masonic Lodge formed on the Pinellas peninsula held its initial meeting in the McMullen Hotel on August 14, 1875. The group in attendance petitioned the Most Worshipful Grand Master of Florida to constitute a lodge under the name of “Star Lodge”. Early meetings were held on the first and third Saturdays of each Month. In 1877 they changed to the third Saturday only. In 1899, the meetings were changed to 7:00 PM on the Saturday on or before the full moon to allow the brethren the advantage of going home by moonlight. In 1899, they met in Bayview School, but subsequently moved to Largo and the old Downtown Bank Building in 1947. After paying off the Building mortgage in 1955, the Lodge broke ground on a new building on November 11, 1967 (the present location on 1145 Highland Ave). In 1968 the Lodge moved into this building, where the growth of the Lodge has paralleled that of the Largo community. Many of the Lodge’s members have been active in local government, civic service, and church organizations, as well as the business life of the area. The Lodge boasts of having members from every phase of the Largo Community throughout history.
– W:. Ray Wampole, P.M.
Published in 2006 for the 130th Anniversary of Star Lodge No. 78